Southeastern Technical College

Southeastern Technical College
Apply Online Pay Online

Vidalia Campus
Library: Room 143, Administration Building
Computer Lab: Room 803, Gillis Building

Swainsboro Campus
Library: Room 2165, Instructional Building
Computer Lab: Room 8133, Building 8

Text Us @ 912-388-0343

For more information:

Leah Dasher
Director of Library Services
Vidalia Campus
Swainsboro Campus
(912) 538-3186


Public Services

Public Services

Hero Image

Instructor, Student of the Year Named at Annual STC Awards Banquet

January 23, 2013 - Southeastern Technical College held its annual Awards Banquet on the night of January 22 at the Vidalia Community Center. School administrators announced the recipients of the staff member of the year awards, the Rick Perkins Award for Excellence in Technical Instruction, and the Georgia Occupational Award of Leadership (GOAL).

Sharon Wyche received this year’s GOAL for Southeastern Tech. The GOAL is awarded each year to the student at Southeastern Tech who best embodies the value of technical education.

Wyche came to STC after being laid off from Ameris Bank. The Lyons resident wasted no time in finding a new path and credited Southeastern Tech with helping her through that transition.

“You’ve heard that when one door closes, another one opens. STC has been that open door for me,” said Wyche.

Other nominees honored and in attendance were Johnny Barfield of Lyons in Electrical Systems, Marsha Brooks of Reidsville, Eureka Bryant of Vidalia, and Lacey Phillips of Soperton in Medical Assisting, and Madison Brantley of Vidalia, LaShanda Rountree of Vidalia, and Christopher Waters of Swainsboro in Radiologic Technology.

“I have served as a [GOAL] judge many times—it is one of the best and worst assignments at STC. It’s one of the best because it provides reaffirmation that we are empowering individuals to achieve their dreams, and one of the worst because you interview so many qualified students that sometimes only hundredths of points separate them,” said Dr. Barry Dotson, vice president for Student Affairs.

The Rick Perkins Award is given each year to the most outstanding instructor at a technical college. Southeastern Tech’s Rick Perkins Award was given to Jennifer Corner, program director for Practical Nursing.

Corner, who came to STC after working at a private practice and swearing not to follow in her mother’s teaching footsteps, credited being able to watch students’ dreams come to fruition with the dedication and drive that won her award.

“With each group of nursing students, I see what a positive impact technical education has on them, their family members and the patients they care for in our community,” said Corner.

Corner and Wyche both now move onto region, or “consortium,” judging, where they could be chosen to move onto state judging. Winners there receive a number of prizes and become representatives of technical education in Georgia for the year.

Awards for staff members of the year were also presented at the banquet. The non-supervisory staff member award went Lula Patrick, and the supervisory staff member award was given to Susan Cross. Both recipients were lauded for their years of service and commitment to the college’s mission.

For more information on Southeastern Technical College, call 912-538-3100 or 478-289-2200 or visit

Photo (L to R): Provost Larry Calhoun, Jennifer Corner, Lula Patrick, Sharon Wyche, Susan Cross, President Cathryn Mitchell