Southeastern Technical College

Southeastern Technical College
Apply Online Pay Online

Vidalia Campus
Library: Room 143, Administration Building
Computer Lab: Room 803, Gillis Building
912-538-3132


Swainsboro Campus
Library: Room 2165, Instructional Building
Computer Lab: Room 8133, Building 8
478-289-2322

Text Us @ 912-388-0343

For more information:

Leah Dasher
Director of Library Services
Vidalia Campus
Swainsboro Campus
(912) 538-3186
ldasher@southeasterntech.edu

Close

Public Services

Public Services

Close
Hero Image

Behavioral Intervention Team (BIT)

The mission of the College’s Behavioral Intervention Team is to provide a proactive and supportive multi-disciplinary team approach to prevention, assessment, intervention, and management of situations that may impact the safety and well-being of individuals or the College community.

Understanding the Difference between Disruptive and Dangerous Behaviors - NaBITA

Campus Members Responsibilities

It is the responsibility of faculty, staff, and students to immediately report any situation that could possibly result in harm to anyone at the College. These reports may be directed to BIT or the Director of Safety and Security, depending on the nature of the concern.

When there is an active or immediate risk of violence or harm to others you should call 911.

How Do I Submit a Referral on a Person of Concern?

In non-emergency situations, you may fill out an online concern report, call, or email a member of the Behavioral Intervention Team, or submit an anonymous report.

Behaviors of concern might be observed in a number of settings: in the classroom, at a service location or office, at an on-campus job, or during participation at an extracurricular activity. By reporting behaviors that are concerning, the Behavioral Intervention Team will be able to reach out to students to intervene, provide support, and connect them with resources that can assist them.

The BIT process does not replace faculty classroom management, disciplinary processes, and/or public safety responses to incidents.

The Behavioral Intervention Team Model works within all current college policies and serves as a model to formalize current informal processes at the College.

Concern Form (PDF) - Download and complete this form. Then, email it to a member of the Behavioral Intervention Team as noted on the form. Please note, you may choose to remain anonymous, but if the BIT needs additional details and you do not provide your contact information, we may not be able to conduct a proper and thorough investigation.

Report to BIT behaviors such as:

  • Violent fantasy content
  • Anger problems
  • Fascination with weapons and accoutrements
  • Homicidal ideation
  • Stalking
  • Interest in previous shooting situations
  • Victim/martyr self-concept
  • Strangeness and aberrant behavior
  • Paranoia
  • Violence and cruelty
  • Recent police contact
  • Mental health history related to dangerousness
  • Unusual interest in police, military, terrorist activities and materials
Behavioral Intervention Team
Travis Akridge takridge@southeasterntech.edu 912-538-3125 or 478-229-3530
Teresa Coleman tcoleman@southeasterntech.edu 912-538-3103
Barry Dotson bdotson@southeasterntech.edu 912-538-3141
Macy Gay mgay@southeasterntech.edu 478-289-2274
Melissa Rowell mrowell@southeasterntech.edu 912-538-3142
Helen Thomas hthomas@southeasterntech.edu 912-538-3126
Blythe Wilcox bwilcox@southeasterntech.edu 912-538-3147