- This event has passed.
Swainsboro, Driver’s Education Training – Continuing Education
April 16, 2022 @ 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
One event on April 8, 2022 at 8:00 am
One event on April 9, 2022 at 8:00 am
One event on April 16, 2022 at 8:00 am
Driver’s Education Training Classes
ALL STUDENTS AGES 15-17 with a Georgia learner’s permit are encouraged to apply for the grant scholarship.
Joshua’s Law – State Approved
Georgia Joshua’s Law requires all teenagers to take an approved driver’s education course before they can obtain their driver’s license. Southeastern Technical College Economic Development Division is offering the following teen driver education course:
A 30 and 6 driver’s education course that consists of:
- A minimum of 30 hours of classroom training, and
- 6 hours of behind the wheel training, with an approved instructor
- Insurance companies require teen drivers to complete a 30hr/6hr course prior to premium discounts.
Approved by the Department of Driver Services (DDS). Meets Georgia Joshua’s Law requirements to obtain Georgia Drivers License. Must have a valid Georgia learner’s permit by the first day of class. NO EXCEPTIONS.
Class will be held at the Economic Development Center at 100-A Brinson Rd, Vidalia, GA 30474 or at 346 Kite Rd, Swainsboro, GA 30401. Call to schedule. Space is limited. Classes will be filled on a first-come, first-served basis.
Step 1: Call to discuss grant scholarship opportunities.
Step 2: READ ALL INFORMATION shown below carefully.
Student MUST attend FOUR (4) scheduled In-Class training sessions to total 30 hours.
Student MUST complete TWO (2) three-hour driving sessions for SIX (6) hours of in-car training.
Prior driving experience is required to help the student receive the maximum benefit from these sessions.
In-class training will meet from 8 a.m.-5 p.m. with breaks and a one-hour lunch.
No absences allowed for any reason.
In-car training will be scheduled upon completion of in-class training based on instructor and student availability.
Step 3: Students registering with a grant scholarship redemption code must present code with a completed packet to confirm registration. The fee for students who do not qualify for the grant scholarship will be only $350. Full payment and a completed packet must be received no later than one week in advance of class start date to hold registration.
Please contact Susan Rustin, (912) 538-3197 for information and registration.
Economic Development Center Hours of Operation
Monday-Thursday, 8:00 a.m.-5:30 p.m. Friday, Closed. Hours vary during holidays and breaks.