STC Receives Recognition at TCDA/TCFA Leadership Conference

November 8, 2022

The Technical College Directors Association of Georgia (TCDA) Annual Leadership Conference was held in Savannah, October 24-26, 2022, in conjunction with the Technical College Foundation Association (TCFA).

Southeastern Technical College’s (STC) Board of Directors was recognized as having 100% board certification at this year’s Leadership Conference.

In order to become TCDA certified, local board members must complete required workshops and activities which educate board members on various policies and procedures concerning Southeastern Technical College and the Technical College System of Georgia. The majority of the required workshops are taught at the Leadership Conference each year. Other requirements include attending 80% of college board meetings and touring the College campus.

The required and selected professional development sessions allow board members the opportunity to learn about community advocacy, budgeting and financial management, and much more in relation to the operations of technical colleges on both state and local levels.

“The conference was a wonderful opportunity to network with fellow board members across the state and gain a more solid understanding of the technical college operations and sources of funding,” said Jeffrey Harden who was sworn into the board of directors in October.

This annual certification process recognition is to encourage outstanding boards to continue demonstrating professional business practices and commitment to the Technical College System of Georgia’s 22 colleges.

The STC Board of Directors meets at least eight times per year. Board members serve a three-year term and may serve two additional three-year terms, for a maximum of nine years before retiring from the local board.

The STC Board of Directors are: Don Betts, Brandon Boston, Dustin Durden, Kenny Griffin, Jeffrey Harden, Michael Harrison, Will Heath, Chris Hopkins, Mandy Underwood, Ken Warnock, and Angie Woolard.

Southeastern Technical College Foundation’s 2022 Board of Trustees was recognized as being a Role Model Board for the third consecutive year.
The TCFA Role Model Foundation Board Certification is an honor bestowed on the TCSG foundations that 1.) engage best practices in nonprofit governance, board management, and operations; 2.) have policies in place to ensure compliance with state and federal regulations, especially in financial matters; 3.) are led by a Board of Trustees whose members are actively engaged in the foundation’s development activities; and 4.) support the professional development and state-level participation of their trustees, executive director, and college advancement personnel.

STC Foundation Board of Trustees are: Pam Dwight, Peyton Frye, Tres Herin, Greg Hudgins, Dennis Ingley, Greg Johnson, Mike Lisenby, Paul MacGregor, Lynda Morgan, Charleen Norfleet, Mark Thompson, and Dianna Wedingcamp.

The Southeastern Technical College Foundation is a non-profit organization that partners with donors to support and invest in students, faculty, and staff of STC to build stronger communities. The Foundation helps recognize unmet needs by providing financial support required to sustain current operations and afford future growth, supporting Candler, Emanuel, Jenkins, Johnson, Montgomery, Tattnall, Toombs, and Treutlen counties.

In 2021, the STC Foundation had 100% employee participation in annual giving and awarded $61,641 in scholarships and assistance to students.

For further information on STC, visit or call (912) 538-3100 (Vidalia) or (478) 289-2200 (Swainsboro).

(L-R) TCSG Commissioner Greg Dozier, STC Board Member Jeffrey Harden, STC Executive Assistant to the President Twan Broughan, STC Board Member Kenny Griffin, STC Board Member Brandon Boston, and TCDA Executive Director Adie Shimandle

(L-R) TCFA President Mike Cheokas, STC Executive Director of Institutional Advancement Blythe Wilcox, STC Trustee Paul MacGregor, STC Trustee Lynda Morgan, STC Trustee Tres Herin, and TCSG Commissioner Greg Dozier